top of page

An Ember in the Ashes

This book was forged by a god.


I have so many damn emotions right now, and I’m going to try and articulate myself properly for this review.


The character growth of every single character in this book is stunning. Laia, my princess, my moon, grew from this terrified, fearful girl at the beginning of the book, into this brave, determined one. She took her fear and wielded it into a weapon of steel, using it is a shield from the horrors in this fearful, brazen world. She took her weaknesses and turned them into strengths. Instead of blocking out her fears, she made them louder so she could listen, then quickly made to conquer them.


Elias preserved his heart of gold, even amidst chaos and corruption. He didn’t allow turbulence to slow him down, even when he began to question himself and who he was. I have so much love and respect for Elias, because he didn’t allow his settings or circumstances to alter his heart.


From they very beginning, I had mixed feelings about Helene. I was hesitant to feel any kind of emotion for her, because it was obvious that once Elias met Laia, they would fall in love. I knew my heart would only hurt once Elias inevitably chose Laia over Helene. But putting aside Hel’s feelings for Elias, I think I would’ve liked her regardless. I like how she was the only girl in Blackcliff and how being the only one didn’t stop her, how the boys avoided her because of the ruthless reputation she made for herself. I like her independence, how she doesn’t let her fear of Marcus allow her friends to watch her back. She knows she can take care of herself. And though she can be a close-minded little git, I still find it impossible not to care for her. She’s strong—in arms, in mind, and in heart.


Villains. Yes, I was getting to the delicious part. Cain is not the villain here. He’s not, and anyone who thinks so can fight me. Believe it or not, I care for Cain, because he’s fighting for something bigger than all of them, bigger than any character knows. Just like all the Aurgons, he carries a heavy burden no character could even dream of, and I applaud him for that. His infinite sadness makes my heart want to tear, but he’s strong, whether he knows it or not. Cain thinks he is a being comprised of nothing, worth nothing, but he is wrong, because he means many things to me.


Now back to the villains. If you’ve read any of my reviews before, you know I have this insatiable, unexplainable addiction to villains. Yes, I’m sick. I’ve heard it all before. The thing is, Marcus Farrars was so close to being that dark, powerful, sexy villain, if not for the fact that he’s a rapist :( Sooo, I no longer feel comfortable discussing this topic, because now it seems like I support and have a crush on this rapist, when that is NOT true. But if we were to put aside the fact that Marcus *NEARLY RAPED* Laia (but DID NOT, in fact, RAPE HER), he would’ve been the best thing that happened to this book. But since he is, in fact, an almost-rapist, I will refrain from talking about the things I’d feel for him if he lacked this particular ... issue. I think what drew me to him the most was his moment of vulnerability towards Elias when he told him how he killed Zac, his twin brother. The moment that showed readers that Marcus does have a heart, but that he chooses to not use it.


This review would not be a review if I didn’t talk about Izzi. She is such an underrated character, and the fact that I have not seen her name once on any of the reviews I’ve looked at for this book, just goes to show that all of you are trolls. There are all kinds of bravery, and though Izzi has one that is not as noticeable, doesn’t make her bravery any less. She befriended Laia, though she knew what the dire consequences would be. She helped Laia escape Blackcliffe (NUMEROUS TIMES, might I add), and even LIED to that damn DEVIL Commandant when asked where the hell Laia had wandered off to. Izzi is a queen, a goddess, and she damn better have her own story in this sequel. I need more of her in Book Two. I cannot live without such courage and endurance.


Keris Veturius, my damn fucking queen. The “villain” or “antagonist” in this book. I’m sorry, you all, call me sick, and twisted, and utterly deranged, but I cannot hate this woman. I tried. TRUST ME. I tried to hate her when she branded Laia with that K, tried to hate her when I learned how Izzi lost her eye. But that small woman with gray eyes has lost her way. And I believe she can find it again.


Redemption is a dangerous theory in novels, mostly because authors really tend to ODE on how evil characters can be. But I just CANNOT muster any sort of hatred in my heart for that woman, because unlike her son, she allowed herself to get lost in the turbulence of her surroundings, and she is not strong enough to be unaffected. Yeah that’s right, I said it. SHE AINT STRONG ENOUGH. Strength isn’t just a physical thing, like who can pick up the biggest boulder and throw it the farthest. Strength, will, is something that comes from within. Strength like Laia’s, to push yourself to keep going, despite the doubts, despite the fear, despite the obstacles. Strength like Elias’, how he remained untouched by the cruelty trying to drag him under. Strength like Helene’s, putting her best friend first by saving him, despite her duty, the strength to put aside her ignorance of Scholars and slaves, how she sang Laia back to life, despite all she’d been taught. Strength like Izzi’s, to put aside that overwhelming fear that threatens to never release you, the strength she found inside herself that she would fight for a cause bigger than her, rather than let fear keep her safe. And despite the long years she’s had on these four teens, the Commandant doesn’t have that strength, the strength that comes from knowing who you are and staying true to that person. She’s forgotten who she is, and I can only hope she finds the way back to herself.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ten Popular Books I *Don't* Recommend You Ever Read

Lore by Alexandra Bracken A Court of Silver Flames by Sarah J. Maas A Deadly Education by Naomi Novik* To All the Boys I've Loved Before by Jenny Han* The Selection by Kiera Cass The Invisible Life of

Sorcery of Thorns

This review contains no spoilers. Rambling and Raving: I have been absolutely, positively mind-fucked. I don't think I even have the proper words to do this book justice, and to describe how much this

Caraval (Caraval #1)

This review contains no spoilers. Rambling and Raving: You know that feeling when you've had a book on your shelf for an entire year, but you always manage to look past it and prioritize other books?

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page