top of page

A Torch Against the Night

I'm not crying my eyes out. My heart isn't breaking. I'm totally fine.


What the hell just happened? Keenan is (view spoiler)???? Are you shitting me? No.

*smol brain cannot comprehend the events that have occured*


Five stars for another of Sabaa Tahir's work. Surprise, surprise. The first thing I shall discuss is the characters in this book, 1) because I always start my reviews ranting about how the characters from said book have given me salvation and 2) because i can?????


It is honestly astounding how much these characters have grown. Truly astounding. Laia of Serra, this smol, frightened girl in the beginning of AEITA, transforming into this beautiful swan of a woman who--still afraid--pushes aside that fear and gets shit done. Her name was [Laia of Serra], and she would not quiver like a rabbit in a snare.

(If you saw what I just did there, congratulations. I like you.)


Helene Aquilla. I have to talk about her before I get to Elias because like damn, she is, quite truthfully, my everything. Helene develops from this close-minded, jealous, "lovestruck" (I'm putting this in quotes because this not really the word to describe her) girl, a girl desperate to save the one she loves, to one that will do anything to protect her empire.

*slow clapping ensues, followed by a one-man standing ovation*

I honestly never thought this day would come. I never thought Helene would choose the Empire over Elias, but it looks like that day has finally come.


"You can keep Veterius," I say. "and your experiments."


The pride that, quite literally, burst in my chest when Helene says this to the Warden ... inconceivable. I don't know why I'm so proud of her. But she could've chosen to be selfish and run after her loved one. She could've said damn it all to the Empire for screwing her over and putting her in this tough position. For making her choose. But she stayed Loyal. To the very end. Just like an Aquilla would.

*pride*

*tears*

*anger that i will never get to meet her*

I've never been this proud of a character before. (Exception: when Neville killed Nagini.)


Helene is on a different path now, one that I hope she never strays from. And if she does, I will root for her until the very end. I will be loyal to her as she has been loyal to others.


I think I also love her more in ATATN because she has her own life now. In AEITA, her life pretty much revolves around Elias, and all she thinks about is Elias, Elias, Elias. It was a little infuriating. But now, Helene is the goddamn Blood Shrike, the baddest bitch in town, and she's not gonna take your shit.


I'm trying in vain to understand why I love her so much (yes, i'm still talking about her four paragraphs later). It's because she is so effortlessly human. No matter how much she tries to be something she's not, she can't help it. She can't help going back to that girl with the heart made of gold. It's because I can wholly understand her emotions and the way she's feeling and the decisions she makes. She holds this facade in front of everyone else as this unfeeling, non-human entity. When in reality, she's still that hopeful girl inside, that girl fighting for the boy she loves. Inside, she's not unfeeling, but rather, a woman that feels too much and prefers not to let anyone see that. What the f*ck? That is magical. Helene Aquilla is my favorite character. Hands down. I never expected to like her this much. No one else is going to die for her. I am.


Now. Elias Veterius, because, again, why not? Call me anything you like, but I can't say Elias' name without grinning from ear to ear. I don't understand how it's possible for there to be so many perfect characters in one book. It doesn't make sense to me.

*tries in vain to process this with tie-nee smol brain*

Anywhoosit, Elias Veterius has also grown, but not in ways that are obvious. First of all, ELIAS APOLOGIZED to Tristas. APOLOGIZED. How many guys do you get in novels that know when to call it quits? That know when to step back and accept that he was wrong? Tell me, how many?

*birds chirp*

*siren wails in the distance*

*someone in the audience coughs*

That's right, bitches. None. You haven't seen this shit before, and you never will, because this, my lovelies, is Elias Fucking Veterius, my man, and always victorious. (That sentence made absolutely no sense and had no conciseness whatsoever, but let's just pretend that it did.)


Sorry (i'm not) for all the cursing, I'm just really passionate about this. I can't understand the pure goodness of this book. It baffles my mind, and I'm still trying to wrap my head around this book's existence.


(The fact that I'm still not done talking about the characters in this book is a tad bit concerning. Here we go.)


I fucking love Marcus Farrar. F.I.G.H.T. M.E. OUTSIDE. ON THE TRAIN. IN THE PARKING LOT. I don't give a shit. I've sort of gained a reputation of always being that one person who loves all the characters that everyone hates. (Mal <3 and Tamlin <3, just to name a few ehehe). Don't ask me why. I don't fucking know. All I know is that, in all of these supposedly "bad", "no-personality" characters, there is something speshul that the rest of the human race is blind to. I rest my case.


Anyway, I've always a had a thing for cruel, sadistic characters, so my growing attachment to Marcus comes as no surprise. ("you sick bitch" yeah yeah don't worry. you won't be the first to have said that.) I loved him since AEITA, and I love him even more now.

Reason why I love Marcus Farrars: I already told you I don't fucking know and I'd appreciate it if we all just moved on with our lives and just forget I ever said anything. Thank you.


Well, since I've already spent my entire review ranting about these mind-blowing characters, I guess I'll talk about Keris Veteria now. I love Keris. I think she's a wonderful villain. I think she's amazing. I think her sadism is wonderful. (never thought you'd see the words "sadism" and "wonderful" in one sentence, now did you?)


I'm not even going to talk about the plot because obviously we wouldn't be here if the plot wasn't good. That plot twist though. With Keenan. Now, be honest, kids. Who actually saw that coming? (because not i.)

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ten Popular Books I *Don't* Recommend You Ever Read

Lore by Alexandra Bracken A Court of Silver Flames by Sarah J. Maas A Deadly Education by Naomi Novik* To All the Boys I've Loved Before by Jenny Han* The Selection by Kiera Cass The Invisible Life of

Sorcery of Thorns

This review contains no spoilers. Rambling and Raving: I have been absolutely, positively mind-fucked. I don't think I even have the proper words to do this book justice, and to describe how much this

Caraval (Caraval #1)

This review contains no spoilers. Rambling and Raving: You know that feeling when you've had a book on your shelf for an entire year, but you always manage to look past it and prioritize other books?

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page